Home Run Derby Field Officially Set for 2024 MLB All-Star Weekend

The 2024 MLB Home Run Derby field is officially set.

On Wednesday, the final players were announced, and the entire eight-person field is as follows:

  • New York Mets first baseman Pete Alonso
  • Baltimore Orioles shortstop Gunnar Henderson
  • Philadelphia Phillies third baseman Alec Bohm
  • Kansas City Royals shortstop Bobby Witt Jr.
  • Atlanta Braves designated hitter Marcell Ozuna
  • Cleveland Guardians third baseman Jose Ramirez
  • Texas Rangers outfielder Adolis Garcia
  • Los Angeles Dodgers outfielder Teoscar Hernandez

Alonso, a two-time Home Run Derby winner, will be looking to join Ken Griffey Jr. as the only players in the event’s history with three victories. It will be a tall task, though, with a field full of sluggers.

DENVER, COLORADO – JULY 12: Pete Alonso #20 of the New York Mets (wearing #44 in honor of Hank Aaron) celebrates after winning the 2021 T-Mobile Home Run Derby at Coors Field on July 12,…

Kyle Cooper/Colorado Rockies/Getty Images

Henderson leads the pack with 27 home runs entering Wednesday’s games. His 27 homers are third in MLB, only trailing Dodgers designated hitter Shohei Ohtani and Yankees outfielder Aaron Judge.

Ozuna and Ramirez are tied for fourth in MLB in home runs with 23, while Hernandez is just a few behind them at 19. Alonso has hit 18 home runs this season, while Garcia has 17 and Witt has 15. Bohm comes in last with 11 long balls this season.

Read more: ESPN Broadcaster Has Surprising Prediction For Home Run Derby Winner

This year’s event will be different, as the league implemented new rules for the 2024 Derby.

Firstly, the beginning round won’t be a one-on-one, knockout style. Instead of having seeds face off against each other in a tournament, all eight players will compete against the clock, with the top four home run hitters moving on to the semifinals.

Then, the knockout style will commence in one-on-one showdowns, with those four seeds being determined by how many home runs each player hit in the first round. The tiebreaker will be the player that hit the longest home run in that round.

Additionally, there will be a maximum amount of pitches a player can see in each round. In the first round and semifinals, the maximum amount of pitches is 40. In the finals, it will be 27 pitches. There will still be a timer, so the end of the round will be determined by the timer or the pitches — whichever comes first. In the first round and semifinals, the timer is three minutes. In the final round, it’s two minutes.

The Derby should still be plenty exciting, especially with all the star power in the field. Garcia should have the home fans sounding especially raucous at Globe Life Field in Arlington, Texas.

The Home Run Derby is Monday, July 15, at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET on ESPN.